The John Irvine Band was formed in the summer of 2011, in Edinburgh. Contemporary classical composition no longer held my interest as it once did – it was time to return to the music I loved the most – jazz-rock.

Much of my listening, over the course of my life, has been devoted the great fusion players of the past 40 years: Pat Metheny & Lyle Mays, Gary Burton, Allan Holdsworth, Bill Connors, Jan Garbarek, John Scofield, Weather Report etc. – and I wanted to reflect what I’d learned from them and, hopefully, add something new to the genre. So, in 2010 I began to write music for a guitar trio setting – the result became ‘Wait & See’ (2011).

Two more albums followed in this jazz-rock vein ‘Next Stop’ (2013) and ‘Metaphysical Attractions’ (2018) until I decided to add a more progressive rock element to the music resulting in ‘The Machinery Of The Heavens’ (2020) and ‘Psychopomp’ (2022).

All five albums have received overwhelming critical acclaim and plaudits from many magazines and websites. Several tracks have been played on internet and terra firma radio stations, such as: La Villa Strangiato, The Prog Rock Palace, Xymphonia, El Ritorno Del Gigante, Canvas Prog Hour, Friday Night Progressive and many more. I was delighted when ‘Metaphysical Attractions’ was awarded 3rd place in the Fusion category in the 2019 Friday Night Progressive ‘IndeProg’ Awards.

Both ‘Wait & See’ and ‘Next Stop’ were recorded with the same band lineup: myself: Guitars, Keyboards, Alan Emslie: Drums, Percussion and Doug Kemp: Bass.

‘Metaphysical Attractions’ featured a new line-up: renowned Scottish drummer Rich Kass on Drums, Rob Ironside on Sax and Gwen Kelso on flute. 

The fourth album ‘The Machinery Of The Heavens’ featured the ‘DUO Mk.I’ lineup with Rich Kass.

‘Psychopomp’ featured a new drummer in the JIB ‘hot seat’, the Kirriemuir-based Calum McIntyre. Thus creating a DUO Mk.II lineup!

A DUO Mk.III will be recording the next JIB album ‘Scanning The Dark Horizon’ in 2022. This time featuring the Edinburgh-based drummer Andrew Scott (King King/Paul Gilbert).